top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMs. Harris

Alma Thomas


Good Morning Everyone!


Yesterday I posted a list of African American artists who I hoped would inspire you. Today and tomorrow, I will share some of their artwork with you, and a bit of their history.


We'll begin with Alma Thomas. When we were in school, our 3rd grade friends were learning about her and making art in her style! Some of these pieces will even be in the upcoming art show!


Alma Thomas was born in Georgia in 1891. She was an artist and a teacher for a long time, and died in Washington DC in 1978. Alma worked with color and created non representational artwork that have a great sense of balance and movement. She was also heavily involved in the Civil Rights movement and was anti segregation.



Today's color of the day is Royal Yellow!



Today's art quote is:

"The use of color in my paintings is of paramount importance to me. Through color I have sought to concentrate on beauty and happiness, rather than on man's inhumanity to man." - Alma Thomas

Here's my doodle!



Have a wonderful, colorful day!

Ms. Harris

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page